Something Out of 1950

Lee:

Lisa used the National Geographic Guide to find our accommodations in Bicknell Utah. It was called the Aquarius Inn and was only 13 miles from the entrance to Capitol Reef National Park. The room was listed as a family suite and included two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a living area and kitchen.  Though it was old and outdated and had some of the wallpaper peeling, it was clean, comfortable and very roomy for our family of four.

I grew up in the 50’s and 60’s and my family was big on traveling by car all over America every chance they could. My dad liked to travel and not arrive anywhere. I remember the time we drove all the way to the Grand Canyon and the ranger said it was $10 entrance fee and my dad said I’m not going to pay that kind of money just to see a BIG hole in the ground. He turned around and we left and all of us just sat very quietly with our mouths wide open.

Another childhood memory is of my mother ordering my dad’s second favorite meal for herself in order to avoid the embarrassment of my dad sending back his favorite order because it was not cooked exactly the way he wanted. Even though we were stir crazy from traveling many miles in close quarters together, I think this experience did much to strengthen family bonds, especially with my sisters and me.

This is a large part of the reason why I want to travel by car around America with Lisa and the boys. People have told me the children won’t remember much of anything because they are so young, (2) and almost (4). During these critical years of childhood it is important to expose children to all the wonders in nature.  I believe this is the key to helping your child develop a strong sense of both self-worth and compassion for all living things.

Leave a Reply

