I Can’t See The Forest for the Trees

IMG_4403Lee:

One of the biggest challenges for me is driving around the east coast. Where ever you drive you are surrounded by big tall trees making it impossible to establish perspective. The street signs are small and very difficult to read and many times they are completely covered by bushes or tree limbs. The local drivers make it even more intense then it needs to be and have little or no patience for my lack of experience.

If I am driving without a navigator with me I refuse to attempt to make left turns because you can’t see the signs soon enough or at all and people are riding my bumper if I slow down in an attempt to find my way. Also, most of the roads are very narrow and winding with little to no shoulder. The posted speed limit seems to me to be at least 10 miles an hour faster than it should be. You seldom see any sidewalks and people are forced to walk in the grass strips right along the roadway.

This reminded me of the time when I took a bus out of Mexico City. The bus was overcrowded, some of the passengers had chickens and Armadillos over their shoulders and the bus drivers were speeding around mountain passes and would turn their lights off as they approached a turn to see if they could use both lanes while turning. I got even more alarmed when I noticed all of the wrecked buses in the bottom of the canyon. Needless to say that was the first and last bus ride I took in Mexico.

Now that I am retired I notice how other people are in such a hurry to get somewhere. I find myself using the right lane most of the time and having to deal with drivers that do not know how to merge onto a freeway. But I suppose this is expected and I should welcome this as another opportunity to learn something new. I just don’t want to become one of those old people that gets in the way by driving like a turtle.

Leave a Reply

