Humor on The Road

Lee:

Recently my wife was reading a Dr. Seuss book about deserts to her niece and nephew when she said the Saguaro cactus could live to be 200 years old when suddenly her nephew blurted out with much enthusiasm, “like Lee!” Well I have been called many things in my life but never compared to a 200-year-old cactus. It reminded me of the time when I turned 35 and my 14-year-old son at the time said he thought I was nearly dead. I was able to return the favor at his 40th birthday party.

Kids do say really cute things all the time that make me have my hard laugh. My two-year-old son Arthur recently told me he wanted to go to Old Mac Donald’s and get and egg miss muffin, how adorable is that? Saying funny things is not just for children either. Just the other day, my four-year-old son Theo, discovered a plastic object in his cousins’ toy box and he asked me what it was. I said  it was used to play the game badminton and it was called a birdie. He looked at me with disbelief and said it was not a birdie. Later that evening he was playing with the birdie while we were tucking him in to bed. Looking for my wife Lisa to corroborate my story I told him to ask his mom what the plastic object was called and she said it was called a FLY. We all laughed so hard we cried.

All 5 of my children have a great sense of humor and I think this will help them get through rough patches in their lives and prevent them from taking themselves too seriously.

Leave a Reply

