South Carolina: cousins in Charleston

Lisa:

Continuing the friends and family tour across America, I was able to connect with my Aunt Mary Helen and her beautiful family in Mt. Pleasant next to Charleston.

Mary Helen lived with my family for years when I was a child in New Jersey and we were very close until my family moved to Oregon. Then she moved to South Carolina and we saw each other little after that.

I can’t believe I waited this long to visit her. The area is absolutely stunning- sparkling blue ocean, serene beaches and gorgeous colonial architecture.



Reminds me a bit of both Quebec City and San Francisco in how charming and beautiful it is.

The weather cooperated with perfect temperatures in the 70s and a light breeze. We enjoyed just walking along the waterfront and sitting in the porch swings on the pier.

  
It was a special pleasure to spend time with my cousins who I’ve barely seen. Fletcher, 21, and Melissa, 18 are kind and a delight to be with- just like their mother. Ben, 15, and I didn’t get as much of a chance to talk but I’m sure he’s great too. It was also fun hearing my Uncle Skip’s stories about traveling the country for a year-and-a-half in an RV with his family when he was 14. Nice to know about other families who do the gypsy thing.

Hope this crew comes to visit us in California sometime.

Leave a Reply

